Women's @ASUNTennis Season Begins Wednesday; Ospreys & Flames Preseason Favorites

Women's @ASUNTennis Season Begins Wednesday; Ospreys & Flames Preseason Favorites

Women's Tennis Preseason Poll 

ATLANTA, Ga. - With the new season set to begin on Wednesday, North Florida and Liberty were selected as co-favorites to win the 2020 ASUN Conference Women's Tennis Regular Season, announced Tuesday by the league office. This is the second year in a row that the eight league coaches have voted the Ospreys and Flames to a tie atop the annual preseason coaches poll.

Both teams totaled 56 points in the vote, with the defending ASUN Champions North Florida receiving five of the eight first-place votes. Liberty, who is heading into its second season of competition in the conference, garnered two votes. The final first-place vote went to the Stetson Hatters who landed fourth in the poll with a total of 41 points.

FGCU, the runner up in last season's ASUN Championship Final, received 50 points to come in third place. Lipscomb (31) rounded out the top five with NJIT (28), Kennesaw State (18) and North Alabama (8) occupying the final three spots in the poll.

The regular season begins on Jan. 7 with FGCU taking on SEC foe Kentucky at home. KSU starts its campaign against Georgia Tech on Jan. 11 while UNA hits the road to face Tennessee on Jan. 12. The remaining ASUN squads begin play throughout the coming weeks in preparation for the conference slate which begins on March 7 between the Eagles and Bisons, picking up again later in the month on March 21 as Stetson faces FGCU.

The 2020 ASUN Women's Tennis Championship takes place April 24-26, hosted by Liberty at the Cook Tennis Center in Lynchburg, Va. The Quarterfinal matches take place on Friday, April 24, followed by the Semifinals on Saturday, April 25. Matches on both days will begin at 2 PM. The Women's Championship Final is on Sunday, April 26 with a start time of 1 PM.

The ASUN Conference is an NCAA Division I league with nine member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement through a true balance between student and athlete. Six ASUN schools reside in Nielsen Top 50 national media markets, and all nine are in top 80 markets. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Liberty University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Alabama, University of North Florida and Stetson University. Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., joins the ASUN for the 2020-21 academic year.