Lipscomb Captures Second Consecutive Women's @ASUNSoccer Championship in Shootout over Kennesaw State

Lipscomb Captures Second Consecutive Women's @ASUNSoccer Championship in Shootout over Kennesaw State

Bracket | Photo GalleryChampionship Page 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - No. 2 Lipscomb outlasted No. 5 Kennesaw State in a shootout by a 4-3 margin after the two squads played to a 1-1 double-overtime draw in the 2019 ASUN Women's Soccer Championship Finals Saturday night at the Lipscomb Soccer Complex in Nashville, Tenn.

The Bisons controlled much of the first half and took a 1-0 lead into halftime on a goal in the 15th minute by ASUN Scholar-Athlete of the Year and First Team All-Conference selection Olivia Doak. Molly Grant was credited with the assist.

Kennesaw State went on the offensive attack in the second half reeling off nine shots compared to Lipscomb's five. The Owls connected in the 69th minute as Erin Harris collected a Kendall Hart free kick that hit off the crossbar and put it past Bisons goalie Melissa Gray to tie the match, 1-1. 

A shootout was necessary after the two teams played a pair of scoreless overtime periods. Kennesaw State goalkeeper Tiffany Sornpao made two fantastic saves to give the Owls a 2-0 lead after two rounds. The Bisons proceeded to score on their next four attempts while the Owls failed to connect on their final three attempts to give Lipscomb a 4-3 victory in penalty kicks.

Turning Point

Trailing 2-0 after two rounds in the shootout, Lipscomb connected on its next four attempts while Bisons goalkeeper Melissa Gray prevented the Owls from netting their final three shots to preserve the 4-3 shootout victory.

Scoring Summary

  • 14:52 - LIP's Olivia Doak (Molly Grant)
  • 68:25 - KSU's Erin Harris (Kendall Hart)

Inside The Box Score 

  • Kennesaw State's Becky Contreras led all players with a game-high of five shots. Doak had four to lead the Bisons.
  • Gray had six stops in net for Lipscomb while her counterpart Sornpao had one for Kennesaw State.
  • The Owls held advantages in shots (20-9) and corner kicks (4-3).

News & Notes

  • Lipscomb, playing in its fifth straight finals, captures its second consecutive ASUN Championship and becomes the fifth No. 2 seed to win the title all-time.
  • The Bisons head into the NCAA Tournament riding a seven-match winning streak.
  • For the 10th time in conference history, a school has won back-to-back ASUN Championship titles.
  • Lipscomb hasn't dropped a home match to an ASUN foe on its home pitch since Oct. 7, 2018, in a 1-0 overtime loss to Liberty, a streak of 15 straight matches.
  • Home teams now own a 7-1-2 record in the last nine ASUN Championship Finals.

All-Tournament Team

Melissa Gray, Lipscomb (MVP)
Lindsey Patton, FGCU
Evdokia Popadinova, FGCU
Molly Saylor, NJIT
Nicole Loehle, NJIT
Becky Contreras, Kennesaw State
Carly Pressgrove, Kennesaw State
Tiffany Sornpao, Kennesaw State
Olivia Doak, Lipscomb
Dominique Diller, Lipscomb
Hailey Eck, Lipscomb

Up Next

Lipscomb earns the ASUN's automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament and awaits its opponent and location on the NCAA Selection Show which is scheduled for Monday at 4:30 PM ET on

The ASUN Conference is an NCAA Division I league with nine member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement through a true balance between student and athlete. Six ASUN schools reside in Nielsen Top 50 national media markets, and all nine are in top 80 markets. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Liberty University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Alabama, University of North Florida and Stetson University. Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., joins the ASUN for the 2020-21 academic year.