Bisons and Owls Set for Women's @ASUNSoccer Championship Showdown

Bisons and Owls Set for Women's @ASUNSoccer Championship Showdown

Bracket | Championship Page | Schedule 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - The ASUN Women's Soccer Championship comes down to the final match on Saturday, November 9 to decide who will be the ultimate victor in the postseason, taking home the ASUN Championship title. No. 2 Lipscomb and No. 5 Kennesaw State meet for the conference's top honor with each looking to add to its trophy case.

Lipscomb is participating in its fifth consecutive championship final match and looking to win its second trophy in those five years. The Bisons could also become just the fifth second-seeded team to earn the ASUN's automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament since 1999. Meanwhile, the Owls are looking for their third overall title in program history and could become just the second No. 5 seed to take home the league's top prize in conference history (Jacksonville, 2006).

The contest airs live on ESPN+ with coverage starting at 7 PM CT / 8 PM ET from the Lipscomb Soccer Complex in Nashville, Tenn.

2019 ASUN Women's Soccer Championship Final
#2 Lipscomb vs. #5 Kennesaw State | Saturday, November 9; 7 PM CT | ESPN+
#2 Seed vs. #5 Seed All-Time: 0-1-0
Lipscomb vs. Kennesaw State in ASUN Championship: KSU Leads 2-1
Last Match: Lipscomb 2, Kennesaw State 1 (Sept. 26, 2019; Nashville, Tenn.)

Lipscomb (13-5-1, 6-1-1 ASUN)
Twitter: @LipscombWSOC
All-Time Record in ASUN Championship: 6-5-0
No. 2 Seeds in the ASUN Championship: 12-15-6
Last Time in ASUN Championship: 2018; Champions
ASUN Championship Titles: 1 (2018)
- Lipscomb is in its fifth-straight ASUN Championship Final match and the third time as the No. 2 seed over that stretch. The Bisons hold a 1-3 record in the conference final.
- Since 1999, the No. 2 seed has now advanced to the finals 13 times but has only come out victorious on four occasions (2003, 2010, 2013 & 2017).
- All-Conference selection Maycie McKay is tied for first in the league with seven assists while Molly Grant (6) and Scholar-Athlete of the Year Olivia Doak is fourth in points (23) and fifth in goals (9).
- The Bisons enter the ASUN Final on a six-match winning streak, which includes a five-match shutout streak.
- During the shutout streak, Melissa Gray has totaled 17 saves as she has lowered her season GAA to 0.78, which leads the league.
- With a victory, Lipscomb will become the 10th back-to-back champions in league history. FGCU is the only other current ASUN program to accomplish the feat.
- Lipscomb hasn't dropped a home match to an ASUN foe on its home pitch since Oct. 7, 2018, in a 1-0 overtime loss to Liberty. 
- Home teams own a 6-1-1 record in the last eight ASUN Championship Finals with the lone loss coming in 2017 in a 3-2 double-overtime thriller between FGCU and Lipscomb in Nashville.

Kennesaw State (11-7-1, 5-3-0 ASUN)
Twitter: @KSUOwlsSoccer 
All-Time Record in ASUN Championship:
No. 5 Seeds in the ASUN Championship: 9-14-8
Last Time in ASUN Championship: 2018; First Round
ASUN Championship Titles: 2 (2007, 2009)
- Playing in its 13th ASUN Championship, Kennesaw State improved to 1-0-1 as the No. 5 seed; the Owls have defeated North Florida, 3-1, before knocking out top-seeded FGCU in penalty kicks (2-1).
- With its win over No. 4 North Florida, KSU secured its first win in championship play since a 4-1 win over Jacksonville in 2016.
- The Owls are the first No. 5 seed to advance to the ASUN Finals since 2006 when Jacksonville claimed the conference crown with a 1-0 victory vs. No. 2 Stetson.
- KSU enters its final match with one of the more balanced offensive attacks in the conference as seven players have scored multiple goals and 16 student-athletes have recorded at least one point.
- Becky Contreras and Erin Harris are tops on the team with 14 points each as Contreras leads KSU with six goals on the year and Harris' six assists are best for the Owls.
- Both of KSU's ASUN Championship titles came with the Owls as the No. 1 seed overall with the matches on their home turf.
- The Owls posted a 3-5-1 road record this season and a 2-2-1 record in league road matches with the only losses to FGCU and Lipscomb.
- The Owls are looking to become the fifth team seeded third or lower to claim the conference crown.

The ASUN Conference is an NCAA Division I league with nine member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement through a true balance between student and athlete. Six ASUN schools reside in Nielsen Top 50 national media markets, and all nine are in top 80 markets. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Liberty University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Alabama, University of North Florida and Stetson University. Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., joins the ASUN for the 2020-21 academic year.