2020 Men's @ASUNTennis Season Preview: Stetson Hatters

2020 Men's @ASUNTennis Season Preview: Stetson Hatters

Stetson Schedule 

ATLANTA, Ga. - As a new year of ASUN Conference Men's Tennis is set to go into full swing, we take a closer look at the Stetson Hatters who begin their 2020 season on January 19.

The Hatters ended the 2019 season with a trip to the ASUN Championship which was held on their home court in DeLand, Fla. This year's squad looks to build upon that success as they enter the year with a roster heavily featuring underclassmen. Colter DeCoste, who went 2-0 in singles and 3-8 in doubles, is the only senior on the 2020 squad. Unanimous All-Freshman Team selection Christian Mills returns to this year's lineup after posting a 5-2 record in conference singles.

Stetson starts its season on the road Sunday, Jan. 19 with a matchup against the No. 1 Florida Gators in Gainesville, Fla. The team's home opener comes a week later on Jan. 26, when the Hatters welcome Bethune-Cookman to the Mandy Stoll Tennis Center. Stetson begins its conference slate with a battle against in-state rival FGCU on March 21 in Fort Myers.

Stetson's Schedule Breakdown
Home Matches: 12
Away Matches: 9
Neutral Matches: 1
First Home Match: vs. Bethune-Cookman (January 26)
First Road Match: at No. 1 Florida (January 19)
Opening ASUN Contest: at FGCU (March 21)

Roster Breakdown
Seniors: 1
Juniors: 2
Sophomores: 6
Freshmen: 2

Coaching Profile
Head Coach: Christophe Noblet
Alma Mater: Universite Du Sud - Toulon, 2009
Record at Stetson: 54-43

The ASUN Conference is an NCAA Division I league with nine member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement through a true balance between student and athlete. Six ASUN schools reside in Nielsen Top 50 national media markets, and all nine are in top 80 markets. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Liberty University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Alabama, University of North Florida and Stetson University. Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., joins the ASUN for the 2020-21 academic year.