Liberty Duo, Lipscomb Pair Claim #ASUNMTEN Postseason Laurels

Liberty Duo, Lipscomb Pair Claim #ASUNMTEN Postseason Laurels


All-Conference Team

DELAND, Fla. - The ASUN Conference announced the Men's Tennis Postseason Awards on Wednesday night at the 2019 ASUN Men's Tennis Championship awards banquet. The Liberty duo of Nicaise Muamba and Josh Wilson won the Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year, respectively.

The Lipscomb duo of Victor Chaw and Pablo Caffarena took home the Doubles Pair of the Year award, while FGCU Head Coach CJ Weber collected his third ASUN Coach of the Year after guiding the Eagles to an undefeated conference record.

ASUN Men's Tennis Superlative Awards
Nicaise Muamba, Liberty: Muamba registered a 16-5 dual record on the year and went 6-1 against conference opponents. A native of Quebec, the sophomore also teamed with Chase Burton and William Barker to combine for an 11-7 double record all at the No. 1 position.

Victor Chaw & Pablo Caffarena, Lipscomb: The Bisons tandem of Chaw and Caffarena posted a 12-3 record in the No. 1 position. In conference play, the duo went a perfect 5-0.

Josh Wilson, Liberty: Playing mostly at the No. 2 singles position in his first year with the Flames, Wilson earned the ASUN Freshman of the Year honors following a 16-6 campaign, including a 12-4 record at No. 2.

CJ Weber, FGCU: After guiding his Eagles squad to a perfect 7-0 conference record, Weber collected his third career Coach of the Year honor and first since 2016. FGCU earned the No. 1 seed in the upcoming Men's Tennis Championship for the third time in program history.

The 2019 ASUN Men's Tennis Championship begins on Thursday, Apr. 18th on the campus of Stetson at 2:30 PM ET. No. 4 Kennesaw State faces No. 5 Stetson, while No. 3 North Florida takes on No. 6 Lipscomb at 5 PM ET. No. 1 FGCU and No. 2 Liberty received first-round byes.