@ASUNSoccer Programs Earn USC Team Academic Awards

@ASUNSoccer Programs Earn USC Team Academic Awards

United Soccer Coach Release 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- A total of 13 ASUN Conference Men's and Women's Soccer programs earned Team Academic Award distinction for the 2018-19 academic year by United Soccer Coaches it was announced Thursday. Five institutions -- FGCU, Liberty, Lipscomb, NJIT and North Florida -- had both its men's and women's programs honored with the award.

The Bisons men's squad led all ASUN and NCAA men's teams with a 3.70 team grade-point average (GPA) while Lipscomb and North Alabama led on the women's side with a 3.61 GPA each. In all, eight women's teams earned the honor with all eight having at least a 3.40 team GPA. On the men's side, five programs received accolades with each program sustaining at least a 3.20 GPA.

A total of 992 soccer teams (345 men, 647 women) posted a team grade point average of 3.0 or higher, thereby earning the United Soccer Coaches Team Academic Award for the 2018-19 academic year. Of that total, 258 schools had both their men's and women's programs recognized. United Soccer Coaches annually celebrates the academic achievements of high school and college soccer teams whose student-athletes collectively demonstrate a commitment to excellence in their studies over the course of a full academic year.

The ASUN Conference is an NCAA Division I league with nine member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement through a true balance between student and athlete. Six ASUN schools reside in Nielsen Top 50 national media markets, and all nine are in top 80 markets. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Liberty University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Alabama, University of North Florida and Stetson University. Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., joins the ASUN for the 2020-21 academic year.