Back-to-Back Honors for Moore; FGCU Collects Three @ASUNMBB Awards

Back-to-Back Honors for Moore; FGCU Collects Three @ASUNMBB Awards

Full All-Conference Team

LakePoint, Ga. - FGCU and North Florida collected the top ASUN Conference Men's Basketball honors on Sunday with the Eagles earning three superlative honors and the Ospreys landing two of their own. UNF's Dallas Moore became the third student-athlete in ASUN history to secure back-to-back ASUN Player of the Year recognition.

Moore leads the league in scoring at 23.8 PPG posting an ASUN-best twenty 20-point games, which included nine 30-point scoring efforts. In ASUN play, Moore increased his scoring average to 25.4 PPG - the highest the conference has seen in at last 30 seasons. A senior guard out of St. Petersburg, Fla., Moore enters the ASUN Championship with 2,363 career points and 537 assists. He ranks second all-time in scoring and eighth in career assists in the ASUN.

FGCU's Brandon Goodwin became an unanimous selection for ASUN Newcomer of the Year by guiding the Eagles to a 12-2 record in conference play and the program's first-ever outright ASUN Regular Season title. Averaging 19.8 PPG in league games, Goodwin ranked fourth in the ASUN. On three occasions, Goodwin secured victories late for FGCU with a game-winning shot at Louisiana Tech, Stetson and North Florida. His scoring efforts helped FGCU become the first ASUN team to post an undefeated road record in conference play since 1999.

Goodwin's running mate, Demetris Morant was tabbed the ASUN Defensive Player of the Year after averaging 10.5 PPG, 8.2 RPG and a league-best 1.5 BPG. An imposing threat in the lane at 6'9, Morant becomes the second Eagle to earn the award alongside Bernard Thompson in 2013.

The ASUN Freshman of the Year, North Florida's Wajid Aminu posted averages of 9.0 PPG, 6.3 RPG & 1.2 BPG, while shooting 53.6 percent from the field, leading all ASUN freshmen in each category. In conference play, Aminu's averages jumped to 9.7 PPG, 6.4 RPG & 1.4 BPG to go along with 55.6 percent on field goals.

For the first time in program history, the ASUN Coach of the Year title belongs to Dunk City as Joe Dooley collected the honor following the program's second ASUN Regular Season title and first outright crown. Dooley led the Eagles to 23 regular season victories - a program record - and a 12-2 mark in ASUN play including an undefeated record in conference road games.

ASUN First Team All-Conference: * - Denotes unanimous selection
*Dallas Moore, North Florida, Guard, Sr.
*Garrison Mathews, Lipscomb, Guard, So.
Brandon Goodwin, FGCU, Guard, Jr.
Kendrick Ray, Kennesaw State, Guard, Sr.
Michael Buchanan, USC Upstate, Center, Sr.

ASUN Second Team All-Conference
J.R. Holder, Jacksonville, Guard, Sr.
Aubrey Williams, Kennesaw State, Forward, Sr.
Rob Marberry, Lipscomb, Center, So.
Damon Lynn, NJIT, Guard, Sr.
Derick Newton, Stetson, Forward, So.

ASUN Conference All-Freshmen Team
Wajid Aminu, North Florida, Forward  
Garrett Sams, North Florida, Guard 
Anthony Tarke, NJIT, Guard/Forward 
Tanner Rubio, Jacksonville, Guard 
James Scott, Kennesaw State, Guard 

The 2017 ASUN Men's Basketball Championship begins on Monday, Feb. 27th at four separate quarterfinal sites with FGCU, Lipscomb, North Florida and USC Upstate hosting contests. The semifinals takes place on Thursday, Mar. 2nd, while the ASUN Final tips on Sunday, Mar. 5th at 3 PM ET on ESPN.