North Florida's Moore Highlights @ASunMBB Postseason Honors

North Florida's Moore Highlights @ASunMBB Postseason Honors

Full Atlantic Sun All-Conference Team

 - For the first time in program history, North Florida collected the top men's basketball honor in the Atlantic Sun Conference as junior guard Dallas Moore was named the Player of the Year by league coaches on Monday.

The St. Petersburg, Fla. native joins teammate Beau Beech as North Florida's first two-time First Team All-Conference selections after receiving the same honors last season. Moore was an unanimous selection to A-Sun First Team.

North Florida added two superlative honors to the postseason recognition with Demarcus Daniels becoming the A-Sun's second-ever back-to-back Defensive Player of the Year averaging 7.3 rebounds and 2.3 blocks per game. Matthew Driscoll and his staff collected the A-Sun Coaching Staff of the Year for the second-straight season.

Stetson's Derick Newton earned A-Sun Freshman of the Year following E.J. Gordon from 2003 as the only Hatter to earn the distinction. Newton led all A-Sun freshmen in scoring at 15.2 PPG adding 5.5 RPG, while shooting 44.5 percent from three-point land.

Kennesaw State's Kendrick Ray was the unanimous pick as the A-Sun Newcomer of the Year as the junior guard averaged 18.9 PPG for the season and increased his scoring in league play to 21.0; best in the conference. During the season, Ray registered two 30-point games, 15 20-point games and four double-doubles. 

Atlantic Sun All-Conference First Team:
(* - Denotes unanimous selection)
- Dallas Moore, North Florida*:
 The 2016 A-Sun Player, Moore is one of four players in the NCAA to lead their respective leagues in scoring (19.7) & assists (6.1). The junior guard recorded a league-best 16 20-point games and dished out 10 or more assists on three occasions to help the Ospreys to their second-straight A-Sun Regular Season title.

- Marc-Eddy Norelia, FGCU: A dominant post presence, Norelia set the FGCU single-season record for double-doubles at 12 by averaging 17.1 PPG & 9.0 RPG. His 53.5 field goal percentage ranked fifth in the conference as he tallied 12 20-point outings. In A-Sun play, he averaged 18.5 PPG & 9.4 RPG.

- Kori Babineaux, Jacksonville: A Second Team selection in 2014, Babineaux led the Jacksonville resurgence as the Dolphins finished as the No. 3 seed in the A-Sun Championship. The senior guard averaged 19.9 PPG, 5.3 RPG & 4.8 APG in conference play to guide JU to eight league victories.

- Damon Lynn, NJIT: Lynn guided the Highlanders to the No. 2 seed in the upcoming tournament by averaging 18.1 PPG, 3.3 APG & a league-best 1.7 SPG. The junior guard sits second in the A-Sun with 98 three's made this season and shot 82.6 percent from the charity stripe.

- Beau Beech, North Florida: Two-time First Team selection, Beech finished the season averaging 15.6 PPG, 6.4 RPG, 2.0 APG & 1.3 SPG. The Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. native connected on 91 three's this season at a 42.7 percent clip, while adding 79.6 percent from the charity stripe.

Atlantic Sun All-Conference Second Team
- Yonel Brown, Kennesaw State
- Kendrick Ray, Kennesaw State
- J.C. Hampton, Lipscomb
- Michael Buchanan, USC Upstate
- Brian Pegg, Stetson

Atlantic Sun All-Freshmen Team
- Derick Newton, Stetson*
- Garrison Mathews, Lipscomb*
- Zach Johnson, FGCU*
- Eli Pepper, Lipscomb
- Deion Holmes, USC Upstate