Greene Nabs @ASunMBB Top Honor; All-Conference Team Announced

Greene Nabs @ASunMBB Top Honor; All-Conference Team Announced

Full Atlantic Sun All-Conference Team

 - For the second time in program history, USC Upstate landed the top men's basketball honor in the Atlantic Sun Conference as Ty Greene was tabbed the Player of the Year by league coaches on Monday.

Greene joins Torrey Craig (2012) as the Spartans' A-Sun Player of the Year award winners. The senior guard added unanimous first team all-conference honors to go along with securing the A-Sun Freshman of the Year accolade in 2012.

North Florida picked up two superlative honors as Head Coach Matthew Driscoll was the unanimous choice for A-Sun Coach of the Year; the first-ever award for Driscoll and North Florida. Junior forward Demarcus Daniels picked up the A-Sun Defensive Player of the Year honor after leading the league in blocks with 47 at 1.7 BPG. He added 5.7 RPG for the season, which ranked seventh in the A-Sun.

Northern Kentucky's Tayler Persons landed the A-Sun Freshman of the Year honor as the Kokomo, Ind. native averaged 13.1 PPG, 4.5 APG, 3.7 APG & 1.0 SPG in helping the Norse to the No. 4 seed in the A-Sun Championship. Persons is the first NKU player to earn a superlative honor with the A-Sun.

Jacksonville's Kori Babineaux was tabbed the A-Sun Newcomer of the Year following an impressive season in which he averaged 14.6 PPG, 3.9 RPG, 4.0 APG & 1.6 SPG. The junior guard tallied two double-doubles with points and assists, while adding seven 20-point games.

Read more on the First Team All-Conference below: 

Atlantic Sun All-Conference First Team:
(* - Denotes unanimous selection)
- Ty Greene, USC Upstate*:
The 2015 A-Sun Player, Greene produced one of the more memorable seasons in recent history as the senior guard averaged 20.1 PPG for the season with 17 20-point games. In A-Sun play, Greene extended his scoring at 23.4 PPG, which included a 39-point showing at North Florida for the most points by an A-Sun player since the 2011-12 season.

- Beau Beech, North Florida*: The junior dynamic guard, Beech helped to guide the Ospreys to their first-ever A-Sun regular season title as he averaged 15.9 PPG and 6.4 RPG in league play. He connected on 39.2 percent of three pointers and 84.4 of free throws. The Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. native tallied 78 three pointers for the season; second-most in the A-Sun.

- Brett Comer, FGCU: A senior point guard, Comer totaled 10 double-digit assist games this season as he set the A-Sun career assist record early in the season before finishing with an average of 7.0 APG. Comer averaged 12.4 PPG as he registered seven 20-point games.

- Josh Williams, Lipscomb: The sophomore guard from Jackson, Miss. ranked second in the conference behind Greene with 17.2 PPG, which increased in league play to 20.2 PPG. For the season, Williams pulled down 5.0 RPG and shot 49.3 percent from the field while adding 1.3 steals per game.

- Dallas Moore, North Florida: Last year's A-Sun Freshman of the Year, Moore was instrumental to UNF's regular season title as he averaged 15.4 PPG, 3.9 APG & 1.0 SPG to help the Ospreys to a 12-2 league record and program record 20 wins. Moore scored 20 or more points on 12 occasions; trailing only Ty Greene.

Atlantic Sun All-Conference Second Team
- Jamail Jones, FGCU
- Kori Babineaux, Jacksonville
- Jalen Billups, Northern Kentucky
- Tayler Persons, Northern Kentucky
- Kentwan Smith, Stetson

Atlantic Sun All-Freshmen Team
- Tayler Persons, Northern Kentucky*
- Divine Myles, Stetson*
- Grant Lozoya, Stetson*
- Christian Terrell, FGCU
- Antwon Clayton, Jacksonville