Bruins Clinch 30-Win Season with 41-Point Title Win

MACON, Ga. - No. 1 seed Belmont Bruins cruised to their fourth General Shale Brick Atlantic Sun Men’s Basketball Championship with a 87-46 victory against No. 6 UNF. The win gives the Bruins 30 wins on the season and an automatic bid to the NCAA championship tournament.

Belmont set an A-Sun record for most victories by an A-Sun team in a season, eclipsing the previous mark of 29 held by both Georgia Southern (2000-01) and College of Charleston (1996-97) and also set a new mark for mar gin of victory in the A-Sun Championship final with their 41-point advantage. The Bruins carry a 12-game win streak, second longest in the nation, into the NCAA tourney, having also won 22 of its last 23 contests.

Leading wire-to-wire, Belmont shot better than 50 percent (36-71) from the field and 45 percent (9-20) from beyond the arc. The Bruins held a 39 to 22 advantage in rebounds, as well.

Tournament MVP Mick Hedgepeth led the way with 23 points, hitting 10-fof-17 from the field and grabbing nine rebounds, both game-highs. Second Team All-Conference member Scott Saunders tallied 15 points and Ian Clark added 10. In all, the Bruins had 11 of 12 players in the game score at least two points.

Read the Atlantic Sun Insider Column: State your Case: Belmont Bruins

The Ospreys’ (14-19) Brad Haugabrook was the only UNF player in double figures with 10 points. Charles McRoy came off the bench to toss in nine points for UNF.

Video has no source Url in width="400" height="224" >

Clark and Jordan Campbell joined Hedgepeth on the Atlantic Sun All-Tournament team, while UNF’s Jerron Granberry and Andy Diaz also earned the nod. Mercer’s Brian Mills capped out the tournament team.

Follow the Atlantic Sun Basketball Championships on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.