ASUN Releases 2020 Baseball Conference Schedule

ASUN Releases 2020 Baseball Conference Schedule

2020 ASUN Baseball Schedule

ATLANTA, Ga. – The ASUN Conference announced its 2020 Baseball schedule on Wednesday with all nine teams slated to play eight three-game series beginning Friday, March 20, and running through Saturday, May 16. The upcoming year marks the 42nd season of competition in the ASUN.

Conference season gets started the weekend of March 20-22 and is highlighted by a series between FGCU, the reigning regular-season champion, and Liberty, the regular runner-up and tournament champion. The battle between the Eagles and Flames takes place in Lynchburg. Other contests scheduled for opening weekend are Lipscomb at Kennesaw State, NJIT at Jacksonville and North Alabama at Stetson.

A key weekend to circle on the calendar is May 1-3, with rematches of both ASUN Championship Semifinal contests scheduled to take place. Jacksonville will head back to DeLand, the site of the 2018 Championship, to battle Stetson, while Liberty faces North Florida in Jacksonville. The rematch between the Championship Title Game participants Liberty and Stetson is scheduled for the final weekend of the regular season, May 14-16. Other series tabbed for regular-season finales include Kennesaw State at North Alabama, FGCU at Jacksonville and Lipscomb at North Florida.

The River City Rumble takes place the weekend of April 17-19, as the Dolphins host the Ospreys. UNF won last season's series two games to one, while JAX holds a 42-33 edge in the all-time series.

Liberty claimed the ASUN's automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament last season and earned a win over Tennessee. The ASUN, continually ranked in the RPI Top-10, has sent six different teams to the NCAA Tournament since 2014 with Kennesaw State (2014) and Stetson (2018) advancing to the Super Regionals. Overall, the ASUN has been an NCAA Tournament multi-bid league a total of 17 years with five of those years having three teams earn berths.

The 2020 ASUN Baseball Championship, a six-team, double-elimination tournament, is scheduled for May 20-23, at Swanson Stadium in Fort Myers, Fla. The champion earns the ASUN's automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

2020 Baseball Schedule Highlights
• Total of 108 league games, starting March 20 and ending May 16
• Each team plays a total of 24 games (12 at home, 12 on the road) and will have four home and four road series
• River City Rumble is set for April 17-19 at Jacksonville University
• FGCU and Liberty, last season's top two teams, square off in Virginia opening weekend (March 20-22)
• Rematch of the ASUN Championship Final game between Liberty and Stetson is set for May 14-16, in DeLand, Fla.
• The 2020 ASUN Conference Baseball Championship returns to the campus of FGCU for the third time in history and first since 2015

The ASUN Conference is an NCAA Division I league with nine member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement through a true balance between student and athlete. Six ASUN schools reside in Nielsen Top 50 national media markets, and all nine are in top 80 markets. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Liberty University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Alabama, University of North Florida and Stetson University. Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., joins the ASUN for the 2020-21 academic year.