FGCU Claims Regular Season Title; ASUN Championship Field Set

FGCU Claims Regular Season Title; ASUN Championship Field Set

 | Bracket

ATLANTA, Ga. - It took until the final day of the season for the seeds to be set and the regular season champion to be crowned, but the field is now set for the 2019 ASUN Conference Baseball Championship after Saturday's results.

FGCU claimed the regular season title and top seed, as they took down Liberty in Fort Myers. The Flames will be the two seed at the ASUN Championship next week in DeLand. Lipscomb secured the third seed, as they took care of business against North Alabama. Jacksonville notched the four seed, while defending ASUN Champion, Stetson secured the sixth and final spot in the championship as they defeated North Florida by a score of 6-to-5. 

ASUN Baseball Results - Saturday, May 18th
FGCU 10, Liberty 9
Stetson 6, North Florida 5
Lipscomb 4, North Alabama 3
Kennesaw State 13, Jacksonville 10

No. 1 FGCU Eagles
- After missing out on the ASUN Championship last season, the Eagles returned to the top of the league winning the regular season title
- The Eagles claimed the ASUN Championship title two seasons ago, giving them their first-ever NCAA Tournament berth.
- FGCU is 16-13 all-time at the ASUN Championship. They will face Stetson, who they are 2-1 against all-time at the championship

No. 2 Liberty Flames
- League newcomer Liberty clinched the two seed at the ASUN Championship finishing a half game behind FGCU
- The Flames look for their first conference title since winning one as members of the Big South in 2013
- Liberty looks to become the first two seed to win the ASUN Championship since Lipscomb did so in 2015

No. 3 Lipscomb Bisons
- Lipscomb earned the No. 3 seed in the ASUN Championship after participating as the No. 5 seed last season
- The Bisons battle with Jacksonville in the first round of the ASUN Championship. The Bisons are 2-3 all-time against JU in the ASUN Championship
- The No. 3 seed last won the ASUN Championship back in 2017, when FGCU did so which was also in DeLand

No. 4 Jacksonville Dolphins
- Jacksonville looks to make back-to-back NCAA Tournament appearances with an ASUN Championship title
- The No. 4 last won the title in 2013, which was also held in DeLand. JU is 29-25 all-time in the ASUN Championship
- The Dolphins look for their first ASUN Champion since 2009, when they beat Lipscomb in the ASUN Championship Final

No. 5 North Florida Ospreys
- The Ospreys locked up the fifth seed in the ASUN Championship. UNF made it to the ASUN Championship Final last season
- Since moving to the current six-team format, no five seed has won the ASUN Championship
- North Florida aims for their first-ever ASUN Championship. The Ospreys have been runner-up twice before

No. 6 Stetson Hatters
- Stetson looks to become the first back-to-back champion since they did so in 2005 and 2006
- The Hatters have an all-time record of 55-48 in the championship and look to be the first No. 6 seed to win since they did so in 2016
- Stetson is hosting the ASUN Championship for a conference record 17th time

ASUN Conference Baseball Standings
Team ASUN Record Overall Record
FGCU* 16-7 34-19
Liberty* 15-9 37-18
Lipscomb* 14-10 30-23
Jacksonville* 13-11 30-25
North Florida* 12-11 31-23
Stetson* 11-12 24-30
Kennesaw State 11-13 27-29
North Alabama 7-16 16-38
NJIT 7-17 17-27-1

*Clinched spot in ASUN Championship