Hatters' Historic Championship Run Ends with Seventh @ASUNBSB Title

Hatters' Historic Championship Run Ends with Seventh @ASUNBSB Title

Championship Page | Championship Bracket | Watch on ESPN3

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - No. 6 Stetson completed its historic run to the 2016 Atlantic Sun Baseball Championship title with a 5-4 victory vs. No. 5 FGCU in dramatic fashion as junior Vance Vizcaino corralled the final out of the contest on the warning track.

The ASUN Championship title marks the seventh in Stetson's program history, which sets the conference record. The Hatters last conference title came in 2006 as Stetson becomes the fourth sixth-seeded team to win the tournament and first since 2011.

The Hatters plated four runs in the first three innings starting with a solo homer from Vance Vizcaino in the opening frame. FGCU's Zach Spivey responded to Vizacaino with a two-run shot down the right-field line giving the Eagles their only lead of the game.

In the second, Jack Machonis doubled to score Will Mackenzie, while Vizcaino added an RBI groundout to bring the score to 3-2. John Fussell's double in the third sent home ASUN Championship Most Valuable Player Cory Reid for the 4-2 lead. Stetson's fifth homer of the conference tournament came in the sixth inning for an insurance run off the bat of catcher Austin Hale.

Trailing by three heading into the final inning, FGCU fought back with two runs against Stetson closer Walker Sheller before ASUN Player of the Year Jake Noll entered as a pinch hitter after missing the last three contests due to injury. Noll sent Sheller's pitch deep to centerfield with one runner on base before Vizcaino skyed to collect the final out of the championship.

Stetson finished the tournament with a .392 team batting average after entering Wednesday's start with a .251 clip. Reid, Fussell, Vizcaino & Sidwell all finished with averages of at least .525 with Reid totaling six extra-base hits and eight RBIs.

The Hatters await their opponents for NCAA Regional play on Monday at Noon ET. It will mark Stetson's 18th trip to NCAA postseason play; 17 of which have come under Head Coach Pete Dunn.

2016 Atlantic Sun All-Tournament Team
- Cory Reid, Stetson - ASUN Championship MVP
- John Fussell, Stetson
- Kirk Sidwell, Stetson
- Vance Vizcaino, Stetson
- Austin Hale, Stetson
- Matt Reardon, FGCU
- Garrett Anderson, FGCU
- Tevin Symonette, Lipscomb
- Lee Solomon, Lipscomb
- Kyle Brooks, North Florida
- Austin Drury, North Florida