ETSU Claims 2013-14 A-Sun All-Sports Title, Seventh Overall

MACON, Ga. – For the seventh time in the award's eight-year history, East Tennessee State University is the Atlantic Sun Conference All-Sports Champion.

The Bucs claimed championships in volleyball, men's tennis and women's golf in 2013-14 to return the Bill Bibb Trophy to Johnson City as the overall All-Sports champ. With 330 points out of a possible 462, ETSU tallied a win percentage of .714 with 160.5 points from the men and 169.5 from the women.

The Bucs topped last year's champion FGCU (.694) in second, as the Eagles claimed five team titles for the first time in a conference season since ETSU did so in 2008-09. Jacksonville (.609), Lipscomb (.601), Mercer (.587), Kennesaw State (.569), North Florida (.557), Stetson (.496), USC Upstate (.377) and Northern Kentucky (.364) completed the overall race standings.

With its eighth consecutive A-Sun men's tennis championship, ETSU also claimed the Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy as the men's all-sports champion with 160.5 points out of a possible 210 (.764). FGCU claimed three championships (soccer, basketball and baseball) to finish second (129.5/174, .744), followed by Mercer in third (123.5/174) with titles in basketball and men's golf. Men's cross country champ Lipscomb ranked fourth (136.5/210, .650) and North Florida used its share of the men's tennis title to round out the top five (118.5/210, .564). Kennesaw State claimed titles in indoor and outdoor track and field to finish in sixth (100.5/183, .549), followed by Jacksonville (.408), Northern Kentucky (.400), USC Upstate (.371) and Stetson (.362).

On the strength of its ninth-consecutive titles in indoor and outdoor track and field and the 2013-14 volleyball championship, Jacksonville claimed the Sherman Day Trophy as the women's All-Sports champion for the first time since 2010-11. The Dolphins tallied a .731 percentage (175.5/240) to distance themselves from ETSU, who tied with JU for the volleyball title and claimed its second straight women's golf championship for a percentage of .673 (169.5/252). Women's soccer champ FGCU checked in at third (145.5/222, .655) followed by Stetson (133.5/222, .601) and Kennesaw State (147/252, .583) in the top five.

Women's cross country champion Lipscomb finished sixth in the standings (141/252, .560), followed by sand volleyball and women's tennis champion North Florida (147/267, .551), Mercer (123/246, .500), softball champion USC Upstate (.381) and Northern Kentucky (.333).

Points for the all-sports standings are awarded on a descending basis in three-point increments and are established according to the number of teams participating in each sport. In team sports, points are awarded based on a school's regular season finish. In individual sports, such as cross country, golf, and track and field, points are awarded based on their A-Sun Championship standings. In the event of a tie, the two schools split the combined points.

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

Back To Top